Friday, October 20, 2017

Tom Dempsey/Tim Ferguson Quartet: Waltz New

OA2 Records
By Ric Bang
Buy CD: Waltz New

Guitarist Tom Dempsey and bassist Tim Ferguson have been friends for more than 25 years, and have worked together numerous times since their college days. Dempsey may be better known, because his career experiences have included stage and TV exposure: with dancer Savion Glover, in Bring In ’da Noise, Bring In ’da Funk; and as part of the ensembles behind The Rosie O’Donnell Show and HBO’s Sex and the City. Dempsey is one of the best jazz guitarists I’ve ever heard, and he also is a teacher, educator and author.

Ferguson has been a first-call bassist in the New York City jazz scene for 20 years. He also composes and arranges, and teaches privately. 

Over time, both have worked with numerous name members of the jazz fraternity; they’ve also played in a quartet format with tenor saxophonist Joel Frahm and drummer Eliot Zigmund. One of those meet-ups produced the 2013 album Beautiful Friendship; Waltz New is their second outing.

Dempsey and Ferguson both admire guitarist Jim Hall, who composed six of this new album’s songs. The rest are Dempsey’s “Village Waltz,” Jerome Kern and Oscar Hammerstein’s “All The Things You Are,” Arthur Schwartz and Howard Dietz’s “Alone Together,” Hoagy Carmichael’s “Skylark,” and Ron Carter’s “Receipt Please.” Dempsey handled the new arrangements.

All the tracks are played beautifully, with masterful recording and mixing. Each artist delivers thoughtful and imaginative solos, which perfectly complement the melodic themes and chord changes. This “blending” of instruments adds greatly to the album’s enjoyment. It deserves prime placement in your musical library.

No comments: